Thursday, 30 September 2010

Wheat free?

I was chatting with one of the other parents after school one day earlier in the week, as you do, and we got on to talking about Food Allergies, again as you do, these conversations can head in all sorts of directions.
Anyway, she was saying she knew someone who couldn't eat wheat, and was wondering if there were such things as "wheat-free vegans". I assured her there were, but the whole conversation got me thinking.
So I made a list (I am by nature a list maker), of what you would / could eat as protein and carbohydrate sources if wheat, and by extension Seitan and Flour and VWG flour were off the (vegan) table. Its quite a long list, and I'm sure it is not exhaustive.

Wheat-free Protein Rich Foods
Beans and dried Peas
Lentils
Nuts
Seeds
Tofu
Tempeh
Processed Soy Stuff, like TVP / Soy Curls
Quinoa

Wheat-free Carbohydrate Rich Foods
Potato
Sweet Potatoes and Yams
Cornmeal / Polenta
Yuca
Masa Harina based items like tamales / arepas / tortillas
Buckwheat
Quinoa
Millet
Oats
Rice (in all its many guises)
Plantains
Barley **
Spelt**
Flours made from all of the above
Commercial Wheat-free Pastas and Baking Mixes

** means Not Gluten-Free, as I was only thinking about wheat itself.

If you think of anything I've missed I'd be interested in hearing in the comments.

No photos today, just musings.

2 comments:

Shirley said...

Chickpea flour? I forget what it is called.

Carla said...

Are you thinking "Besan"? I think that is what it is also known as.